FIL Announces 2019 WILC Teams

Photo Credit: Coyote Magic Action Images

The 2019 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships (WILC) will be held in Langley, British Columbia, Canada from September 19th-28th, 2019. The Langley Event Centre will play the main host for the tournament with a few smaller venues in the area also hosting some games as well. The 2019 WILC will be the largest tournament ever as 20 nations will be competing, many new countries to the box game. 

On Tuesday morning a press conference was held at Langley Events Centre to officially announce all 20 nations that are planning to be there at the 2019 WILC next September. The 20 nations that will be at the 2019 WILC include some new countries as well as some more established lacrosse countries and the big three as always. 

WILC 2019 Teams

Costa Rica
Czech Republic (Czechia) 
Hong Kong
Puerto Rico
United States 


There will be six newcomers participating in the 2019 WILC as there will be 20 nations competing. 20 is up from 13 nations in 2015. Those new countries are a mix of nations from Asia, Europe, North and South America. The newcomers in 2019 will be Austria, Costa Rica, Hong Kong, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, and Sweden.


There are eleven nations from the 2015 WILC that will be competing in the 2019 WILC next September. Those nations include Australia, Canada, Czech Republic, England, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Iroquois, Israel, Serbia, Switzerland, and United States. Scotland and Slovakia aren't new to the WILC but they did not compete in 2015. Scotland is appearing in their first WILC since 2007 and Slovakia in their first since 2011. Turkey is the only team that was in the 2015 WILC that is not competing in the 2019 WILC.

More information such as grouping and scheduling will be announced over the next couple months as we grow closer to the event. You can stay up to date with all the new from the 2019 WILC by following them on their social pages such as Twitter and Facebook. The events website is up and running as well.