2019 KSLL State Tournament Dates Announced

Photo Credit Chad Waggoner

The official dates for the 2019 Kentucky Scholastic Lacrosse League (KSLL) state tournament have been announced. As the rotation between hosting schools continues Trinity will play host to the KSLL state tournament in 2019. Last season St. Xavier played host and the year before the tournament was held at Christian Academy of Louisville.

In the KSLL there are four districts. Each district has four teams except District one who now has five as Atherton joins the KSLL in 2019. After the regular season the teams in each district are seeded for their respective district tournaments. The host sites of those district tournaments rotate each year. The winner and runner-up of each district tournament then advances to the state tournament. 

To determine the setup of the KSLL state tournament the district winners are drawn out of a hat first to place them. District runner-ups will be drawn out of a hat next and placed on the opposite side of the bracket from that district champion. The top four teams, district winners, can meet in the semifinals if they win. The first round, quarterfinals, are hosted by the top four teams, district winners. 

The 2019 KSLL state tournament will kickoff on Monday May 13th with the quarterfinals. The semifinals will be on Wednesday May 15th and the championship will be on Friday May 17th. The other league, the Commonwealth League, has their quarterfinals, semifinals, and championship the same week but on opposite days.