President's Cup Day 6 Recap: The Playoffs are Set!

Photo Courtesy of Lacrosse All Stars

As we watched four games on the final day of round robin play we would see close games, blowouts, and madness in the standings. It was a fantastic way to end the round robin portion of this years President's cup. We should expect even more on Saturday and Sunday in the playoffs.

Onondaga Redhawks 9 vs Saskatoon Brewers 7

This might be the best game I've seen Saskatoon play all week as they hung in there with Onondaga all game, despite the loss. It was a very tight game but Onondaga would have a big second period that helped lift them to victory. 

Saskatoon would be led by Adam Saunders with 3 points (2G,1A) and Brandon Murphy who had 3 points (1G,2A). In goal for Saskatoon Hunter Wongstedt had 30 saves of of 38 shots. For Onondaga they would be led by Kori Halftown who had 3 points (2G,1A) and Chris Laurita with 3 points (1G,2A). Gerald Johnson also contributed heavily with 3 points (2G,1A). Edmund Cathers would have 31 saves off of 38 shots in goal for Onondaga.

Oakville Titans 8 vs Caughnawaga Indians 4

In the first Caugnawaga held a 2-1 but that would change fast as Oakville controlled the final two period to secure the win. Oakville give Caughnawaga their second win of the tournament as they haven't looked their best these final two days of round robin play, but Oakville took advantage of that. 

In terms of points Caughnawaga would be led by Brett Bucktooth who put up 3 points (2G,1A). A whole host of others would get just one goal including Ty Thompson. In goal for Caughnawaga was Brandon Miller has he had 42 saves off of 50 shots. For Oakville they would be led by Ryan Johnston with 4 points (1G,3A). Cree Blakely also played a big role again with 3 points (2G,1A). Jesse Legault got most of the minutes in goal for Oakville as he had 39 saves off of 43 shots in the win.

Nanaimo Timbermen 10 vs Capital Region 4

Coming out of the fist period Nanaimo held a 5-4 lead over Capital Region. Nanaimo wouldn't let Capital Region back in the game at all as they dominated the final two quarters on both ends of the floor to secure a 10-4 victory to close out round robin play.

Capital region was led by Austin Robinson who had 2 points (1G,1A) and Tim Bergin as he also put up 2 points (1G,1A). In goal Brett Perras got most of the minutes in goal as he had 23 saves off of 31 shots. Nanaimo was led by Jeff Shattler with 5 points (2G,3A) and Andrew Miller as he had 5 points (1G,4A). In goal for Nanaimo Pete Dubenski had 18 saves off of 22 shots. 

St. Albert Miners 10 vs Ladner Pioneers 9

What an insane game this one was! It was all St. Albert early on but Ladner would start to make a comeback in the second period. As both teams continued to fight Ladner took the lead in the third but a two goal run to end the game for St. Albert would seal the deal. 

Ladner was led by Tom Johnson with 5 points (3G,2A) and Tylerk Kirby who also had 5 points (5A). Nathan Clare also made big contributions for Ladner with 4 points in the game. Zach Wickett had 20 saves off of 30 shots in goal for Ladner. 

St. Albert would see contributions from Mike Triolo who had 5 points (5A) as well as Derek Burak who put up 4 points (2G,2A). Nik Farris also contributed heavily with 3 points for St. Albert. In goal Matt Hiebert got the majority of the minutes as he made 36 saves off of 39 shots. Brady Johnson played some significant time in goal for St. Albert as well. 

Playoff Schedule 

Here is the schedule for tomorrow as the playoffs get underway. 

Medal Bracket

2. Oakville vs 3. Nanaimo - 3PM PST/6PM EST

1. St. Albert vs 4. Caughnawaga - 6PM PST/9PM EST

Placement Bracket

6. Capital Region vs 7. Onondaga - 9AM PST/1PM EST

5. Ladner vs 8. Saskatoon - 12PM PST/3PM EST




Comments