NLL Announces Third and Final Wave of Season Awards

(Photo Credit: Discover Moose Jaw)

The NLL is releasing their end of season awards over a span of three weeks this season. This is a very interesting way to go about releasing the awards but I have opened up to it more than I did when they first announced this format. Is it easier to announce them all at one? Yes. With that said this new format keeps fans engaged throughout the offseason when talk surrounding the NLL was usually pretty slow. For that reason I really like this way of announcing the NLL Awards.

Season Awards Schedule

Transition Player of the Year - Tuesday 7/24 
Goaltender of the Year - Wednesday 7/25
Teammate of the Year - Thursday 7/26
Rookie of the year - Friday 7/27

Defender of the Year - Monday 7/30
Media Person of the Year (Tom Borelli Award) - Tuesday 7/31
Executive of the Year - Wednesday 8/1
Head Coach of the Year - Thursday 8/2
General Manager of the Year - Friday 8/3

Week 3
Sportsmanship Award - Monday 8/6
Most Valuable Player - Tuesday 8/7
All Pro & All Rookie Teams - Wednesday 8/8

Sportsmanship Award 

Winner: Lyle Thompson, Georgia Swarm

Most Valuable Player 

Winner: Mark Matthews, Saskatchewan Rush

All-Rookie Team 

Josh Byrne, F, Buffalo Bandits
Zach Currier, T, Calgary Roughnecks
Eric Fannell, F, Rochester Knighthawks
Austin Shanks, F, Rochester Knighthawks
Colton Watkinson, T, New England Blackwolves
Jake Withers, D, Rochester Knighthawks

All-Pro First Team

Kevin Crowley, F, New England Blackwolves
Mark Matthews, F, Saskatchewan Rush
Robert Church, F, Saskatchewan Rush
Joey Cupido, T, Colorado Mammoth
Graeme Hossack, D, Rochester Knighthawks
Matt Vinc, G, Rochester Knighthawks

All-Pro Second Team

Curtis Dickson, F, Calgary Roughnecks
Joe Resetarits, F, Rochester Knighthawks
Lyle Thompson, F, Georgia Swarm
Zach Currier, T, Calgary Roughnecks
Kyle Rubish, D, Saskatchewan Rush
Dillon Warn, G, Colorado Mammoth